My mother and Fantine

FantineAnd tell Cosette I love her and I’ll see her when I wake… – Les Misérables

 

My mother passed away 12 years ago. She died in the 6th September 2002, when I was 12 years old. I can’t say that I’ve been traumatized for her lost, but it’s obvious that it was really hard for my family to overcome. I think that being a child helped me to continue with my life easily, but sadly it made me forget how my mother was too. Obviously, my love for her and the way she loved me is something that I can’t forget at all.

When I started to listen and learn about musicals, I discovered a story that really moved me and made me feel identified. It’s Fantine’s, in ‘Les Misérables’. For me, is one of the best characters in the show. She sings one of the most popular songs of the musical, ‘I Dreamed A Dream’, which I really love. There are lots of covers, because it’s a hit, it’s full of love, passion and sadness.

Fantine is a young girl who works in a factory. She has a daughter, Cosette, but she can’t look after her, so the Thénardiers does. She brings them some money, so they can pay medicines and food. Fantine is fired from her job so she needs to become a prostitute. She sells her teeth and her hair too, so she can bring money for her child. Finally, she dies and Jean Valjean rescues Cosette from the Thénardiers.

Thanks God, my mother’s story was not that dramatic. But everyone who sees the show can feel sorry for Fantine, because she is a devoted mother, full of love for her daughter. It’s pure love, real love, something so strong that not even death can destroy. That’s why I love ‘Les Misérables’ so much, and Fantine too, because reminds me my mother and my childhood with her.

I dreamed a dream when time gone by, when hope was high and life worth living’. My mum and I used to spend a lot of time together. We were really close, I explained her all my worries and we used to write poetry all together too. Since she passed away, I’ve been able to write some poems too, but it’s not the same, is like I lost my muse. I used to write a lot with her, almost every day, now just from time to time. We used to read together too, and thanks God I keep literature now as well. I still love reading.

And still I dream he’ll come to me, that we will live the years together, but there are dreams that cannot be and there are storms we cannot weather’. I think that a death like that is a tragic situation, but it also changed us for good. I think that love above all for my siblings is strongest than ever. And thinking about my mum gives me some strength to be a good person and do the things properly to make her feel proud of me wherever she is now.

I had a dream my life would be so different from this hell I’m living, so different now from what it seemed. Now life has killed the dream I dreamed’. My mother was really special, everybody loved her so much. She was kind and nice, full of joy, energy and love; she was amazing. Sadly she passed away 12 years ago, but we still think about her and love her so much. And the love of a mother lasts forever.

Te quiero mamá. Os quiero Noemí y Héctor.

Cesar

2 pensamientos en “My mother and Fantine

  1. Noemí Márquez Pérez

    you’ll make me cry!

    The most important thing for our mum in the world was her children. She loved us above all things. Above herself.

    She’s always in my mind. Héctor and you are always in my mind.
    I love you so much.
    Forever and ever.
    noemí 🙂

    Me gusta

    Responder
  2. M. del Mar

    You made me cry César, you made me cry a lot.
    I just can say that I love every word of this post, and I will never hear this song without thinking about that beautiful poem one of my best friends once wrote to his mother.
    Looooots of love and kisses!

    Me gusta

    Responder

Responder

