How to get cheap tickets for the theatre

Theatre

Sometimes, people tell me that I spend a lot of money going to the theatre. But that’s not true. I mean, yes I spend my money on theatre, but it’s what I enjoy the most in the world. So, for me it’s ok to spend most of my salary doing what I like. But, otherwise, I can say that I find good prices for the tickets too. It’s important to do a little bit of research before going to a show.

I truly recommend having a look at the official webpage of every show. It’s the first thing you must do. There you can find how much do the tickets cost, or if there’s any special offer. Then, if you don’t find any important information about the tickets, you can go to the theatre directly.

I like going to the theatre an hour before the show, more or less, so they can tell me if there are any seats available yet. Maybe there are some seats that they know that they are not going to sell, so they can offer them to you cheaper. It happened to me when I went to see ‘Stephen Ward’ and ‘Spamalot’. It’s always good to ask, just in case, you never know.

Lots of theatres do the ‘Daily Tickets’ promotion. They sell some tickets in a reasonable price for a limited people. I love that, because some tickets are in the front row. You just need to be in the box office at 10 o’clock in the morning to get them. But, this kind of tickets are very popular, so some people go there and wait outside the theatre a couple of hours before they open.

I’ve seen ‘Wicked’ and ‘Miss Saigon’ in the front row because of the Daily Tickets. In ‘Miss Saigon’, people wait in Prince Edward Theatre before 7 am. Sounds crazy, but it really worth it. You spend £20 and you enjoy the amazing show in the first row, it’s an experience that you can never forget.

There are more offers that are really interesting. For example, in the Cambridge Theatre, where you can see ‘Matilda, the musical’, there are 16 tickets available from 10 am for people aged 16 to 25. You can get a £5 ticket for the show, only one per person (and obviously you need to show your ID to proof your age). It’s in the Upper Circle, but you can see the show extremely well. People go there a couple of hours before they are open too, so you need to wake up early to see the show.

In the Prince of Wales Theatre, where you can have fun watching ‘The Book of Mormon’, there is a special lottery every day. You must get there 2 hours and a half before the show (5 o’clock to get a ticket for the performance in 7:30 pm). You just need to write your name and wait for the lottery at 5:30 pm. If you are lucky, you can win one or two tickets for the show at the front row for just £20. I tried five times to get a ticket, I was so upset, but finally I got it, and it really worth it, I enjoyed the show so much.

Then, you can ask too for the standing tickets. When all the seats are sold, some theatres sell standing tickets. You don’t have a seat, but you can see the show standing. Of course it’s not comfortable, but you can see the show not paying a lot. I saw ‘Les Misérables’ and I must recognise that I was exhausted after the performance. Three hours not moving from my place, it was really hard. But I enjoyed the show anyway, I really love the musical.

So, I recommend you, first of all, visiting the theatre, I’m sure that the staff will help you with any doubt. I’m sure they can explain you any offer or how to get cheaper tickets if you can’t afford a lot like me.

TKTSThen, in London there’s a lot of shop with discounts and special offers. If I’m honest, I don’t know much about them, because I don’t usually go there. So I don’t have much information about it. It’s true that I like going to TKTS, in Leicester Square, which is run by the Society of London Theatre. There’s a screen where you can see the special prices of the day. I usually go there and have a look, just for curiosity.

Maybe you prefer to book your ticket some months, weeks or days before. In that case, you can do it in the webpage of every theatre. There are some web pages where you can find special offers too. I bought tickets for ‘The Pajama Game’ in LoveTheatre, and we saw the show in the third row for a very good price. So, don’t get upset, there are lots of possibilities. And thanks God there are a lot of theatres, plays and musicals to see in London.

How do you get tickets for the theatre?

Cesar

Responder

