Happy Birthday ‘Les Misérables’ and ‘The Phantom of the Opera’!

October is a celebration month for all musical lovers. It’s the anniversary of the longest-running shows in London. ‘Les Misérables’ celebrates 29 years of performances and ‘The Phantom of the Opera’ 28. Next year, the show created by Claude-Michel Schönberg and Alain Boublil is going to celebrate 30 years, is a lot of time for a musical. Will it be a special performance? I hope so!

Les Miserables

Les Misérables’ opened on 8th October 1985 at the Barbican Arts Centre, in London. But on 4th December 1985 it was transferred to the Palace Theatre, where it stayed until 3rd April 2004, when it moved to Queen’s Theatre (its actual home). The original production included Colm Wilkinson as Jean Valjean and Patti LuPone as Fantine. Since then, the show has just grown up, beginning one of the classical musicals ever. In 2012 it was adapted in cinemas. It’s a show that all musical lovers can’t miss.

It’s a great show, I was completely amazed when I saw it for the first time in Barcelona in 2011 (there’s been several Spanish productions). This year, I saw it again in the Queen’s Theatre. I love absolutely everything about the musical, all the songs, the characters, the story are so moving, so touching. I hope that ‘Les Misérables’ runs in the West End for many years more.

The Phantom of the Opera’ started their performances on 9th October 1986 (one year after than ‘Les Mis’) in Her Majesty’s Theatre. The original production included Michael Crawford as the Phantom and Sarah Brightman as Christine. In 2005, the movie adaptation directed by Joel Schumacher was released in cinemas.

The Phantom of the Opera

I discovered this musical watching the movie, but this year I saw live in stage for the first time in Her Majesty’s Theatre. I was really surprised with the effects. I knew the story and the songs already, but watching it live was a beautiful experience. The entire atmosphere, the great actors and choreographies… Everything was wonderful. So I hope we can still see ‘The Phantom of the Opera’ for many years.

 

From Musicals Are Great, I wish you Happy Birthday ‘Les Misérables’ and ‘The Phantom of the Opera’!!!

 

Cesar

2 pensamientos en “Happy Birthday ‘Les Misérables’ and ‘The Phantom of the Opera’!

  1. Geni

    Hi Cesar,
    I’m M. Mar’s mother and I’m very glad to share with you my love for musicals and theatre (and also this will help me not forget my English). My love for musicals began when I was a child and now with fifty nine this love still goes on and on.
    Speaking about these anniversaries, it takes me a lot of time that my dream to see them will come true. At the end I could see The Phantom in Broadway, wow!! and Les Mis in London. I think that I’ll never forget what I feel seeing Les Mis for the first time. It was a love at first sight. After I’ve seen them once again in London and in the cinema in Barcelona for the 25th anniversary at O2. I bought the DVD of this performance, the one on the 10th anniversary and also both CD. You can imagine how many times I’ve watched them. I only hope to have the chance to see them in the Queen’s Theater and I’d like also a lot to see again The Phantom may be this time in London too. By the way I also have the DVD of the performance of the Phantom made for its 25th anniversary.
    It’ll be very interesting to read your posts about the performances you see and die of envy of not having the chance to see them too.

    Me gusta

    Responder
    1. cesarmp90 Autor de la entrada

      Thank you very much for your comment! I’m so glad to read you!!! I completely understand you, I still remember my feelings watching Les Mis & The Phantom for the first time. Once you discover them, you love them. Both are masterpieces. And I’m sure Mar told you about ‘Miss Saigon’, it’s a great show too! I hope you enjoy the musicals I share and I’ll be happy to know what you think about them! Lots of xitos 🙂

      Me gusta

      Responder

Responder

