‘Feed The Birds’ from ‘Mary Poppins’

I hate my job. But when I’m upset and frustrated, I usually find in musicals a way to calm down. I work in Paternoster Square, really close to Saint Paul’s Cathedral, one of the most beautiful buildings in London. It’s full of tourist and workers from the offices wearing suits. Sometimes, when I’m exhausted, I go to the stairs of Saint Paul’s and remember ‘Feed The Birds’ from ‘Mary Poppins’.

This song was written by Richard M. Sherman & Robert B. Sherman and it’s in the 1964 Disney Movie ‘Mary Poppins’. In the film, Mr. Banks discourages the children from feeding the birds. But Mary Poppins sing a song about that. She tells the story of a woman who sells bags of breadcrumbs to feed the pigeons in Saint Paul’s. It’s full of pigeons there, and I must recognise that I don’t really like them, but I love the song. It’s really wonderful and touching.

20141013_113208The song is about charity, about help the ones that need help. It’s kind of ironic this scene happens in Saint Paul’s. Nowadays, I have the feeling that all the people there don’t really care about anybody, they just look after themselves and work hard. It’s sad but true. You just need to have a look and see the hectic lifestyle of all the people from the City. I recognise that I get used to this lifestyle, but sometimes is good to stop and see what’s going on. Is good to take care about the important things in life, like the people around, while I remember the wonderful melody of ‘Feed The Birds’.

Finally, I want to say thank you to Daniel. You made me discover ‘Mary Poppins’, you shared with me one of your favourite musicals. I had seen the movie once, probably on TV, when I was a child. But I didn’t remember anything. Now I see the movie in a different way, ‘Mary Poppins’ means you and your family. I love you.

So, put love the first in your list and share everything you can with the people around you. And never forget what Mary Poppins said (or Julie Andrews sung), ‘come feed the little birds, show them you care, and you’ll be glad if you do’.

That’s why ‘Feed the Birds‘ from ‘Mary Poppins‘, for me, is poetry!

 

Cesar

2 pensamientos en “‘Feed The Birds’ from ‘Mary Poppins’

  1. Laia

    This is one of my favourite songs and everytime I pass St Paul’s I think about the film. I think it’s one of the best scenes in it.
    Did you know that when Walt Disney died they played this song in the funeral and a bird posed itself on the , I don’ remember for sure if it was the tomb or the piano.
    Maybe it is an urban legend… But nevertheless it is cool.

    I love this phrase: : So, put love the first in your list and share everything you can with the people around you.

    I agree!

    Laia

    Le gusta a 1 persona

    Responder
  2. Geni

    Do you remember I told you that I began to love musicals since I was a child? Well this is one of make me love them.I still remember perfectly well the day I went to the cinema to see it and how I felt after saw the film. And that it’s 49 years ago!! I bought the LP of the Soundtrack to listen and listen again the songs. And “Feed the birds” is also my favourite one.

    Me gusta

    Responder

Responder

