My wish list for this winter

Winter is here, my friends. Everything is fantastic: freezing in the street, the days are shorter, the night comes so soon, Christmas is near… I was buying a jacket in a shop and there were Christmas Carols. I still don’t have the feeling that is Christmas. I don’t have the spirit yet! I can’t wait to see the streets full of kind people buying a lot of presents, carrying a lot of bags, everybody in a good mood… But, come on, don’t get depressed so soon, there’s something good about this season: theatre, of course! There are many shows starting their performances soon. I’m making a list of some of the most popular musicals that will be performing this winter.

Assassins

  1. Assassins’ at the Menier Chocolate Factory

This show is starting the performances on the 21st November and will run until the 7th March of the next year. This musical was created by Stephen Sondheim and John Weidman. Sondheim is an American composer, creator of many important musicals like ‘West Side Story‘, ‘A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Forum (Golfus de Roma)‘, ‘Follies‘, ‘Sweeney Todd‘ or ‘Into The Woods‘. This show is about all the men and women who tried to kill the different Presidents of the United States. It’s a classical show that yes, I really would like to see it if I can. I’ll try if it’s possible.

 

 

Cats Palladium

  1. Cats’ at the London Palladium Theatre

The classical Andrew Lloyd Webber show is coming back to London after 12 years after finishing their performances. There’s nothing much to say, only that I’m really excited and I can’t wait to see ‘Cats‘. Nicole Scherzinger will be performing as Grizabella. I don’t know much about her, just that she use to be in a popular girl band. It will be in the Palladium Theatre from the 6th December until the 28th February of 2015. It’s a very popular play for musical lovers, so I must see it finally live. As you must know, Andrew Lloyd Webber is a composer of some famous musicals like ‘The Phantom of the Opera’, ‘Evita‘, ‘Jesus Christ Superstar‘…

 

 

Here Lies Love

  1. Here Lies Love’ at the National Theatre

I don’t know much about this musical, not at all. But since I’ve seen many adverts in the tube, I’ve been looking some information about it. I started to have a lot of curiosity because the advert is very beautiful and visual. This show is composed by David Byrne and Fatboy Slim. The main role is played by Natalie Mendoza (which is popular for her unfortunate accident in ‘Spider-Man: Turn Off The Dark’). It will be in the National Theatre from 30th September until 8th January of the next year. I think it’s a weird show but I want to discover how it is, I want to see how is modern theatre, how musicals are changing nowadays. So I will try not to miss it.

 

 

Made in Dagenham

  1. Made In Dagenham’ at the Adelphi Theatre

After ‘The Bodyguard’ finished the performances, this new show was presented in the Adelphi Theatre in the 9th October. It’s a new musical, with Gemma Arterton playing the main role. The story is about the Ford sewing machinists strike in 1968, when the women asked for an equal pay. It’s a real story of many women who fought against sexual discrimination. It’s based too in a British movie. I know I will see this show someday. I hope is in the Adelphi Theatre for a long time. For now, it’s receiving many good reviews, which is good.

 

 

Memphis

  1. Memphis’ at the Shaftesbury Theatre

This Tony Award musical is running in the Shaftesbury Theatre from the 23rd October, and hopefully is going to be there for a long time. I saw in that theatre ‘The Pajama Game’ and I can’t wait to go back to see this show. As ‘Made in Dagenham’, probably I won’t see this show this winter, but I’m happy there’s a new musical in London. I saw the trailer for the first time in the West End Live and since then, I’ve been like obsessed with this musical. I’m sure it’s going to be fantastic.

 

 

Scottsboro Boys

  1. The Scottsboro Boys’ at the Garrick Theatre

This show started their performances on 4th October and it will run until 21st February of the next year. It’s a true story of a group of 9 guys who where accused of raping two women. So, apparently is a dramatic show, but I’m sure I will enjoy it so much. I’m not going to miss it as well.

 

 

White Christmas

  1. White Christmas’ at the Dominion Theatre

¿Seriously? Well, yes, once ‘Evita’ is finishing the performances, this new musical will be presented at the Dominion Theatre. Who’s excited? I’m not! It will be just a few weeks, from 8th November until 3rd January. Two friends from the army decide to create a show for help a skiing refugee, which is in crisis. Maybe is a good show, who knows, maybe there’s amazing reviews. But I won’t see it because I don’t want to pay for seeing Christmas Carols live. I just don’t like this kind of shows.

 

 

Women on the verge of a nervous breakdown

  1. Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown’ at the Playhouse Theatre

This musical will start the performances on 20th December in the Playhouse Theatre, where I saw ‘Spamalot’ last March. It’s based in a Pedro Almodóvar’s movie. If I’m honest, I’m not really interested in this show, I don’t know much about the film, I haven’t seen it, but I suppose that I will. Let’s see how the reviews are and then I will decide if I buy a ticket or not.

 

There’s a lot of new interesting stuff in London. Have you got your own list for this winter? See you in the theatre! Sure it won’t be as cold as in the street!

 

Cesar

Un pensamiento en “My wish list for this winter

Responder

