New shows in London

There are many new shows starting soon their performances in London. Most of them are opening soon, I can’t wait to go. It’s a bit of everything: a classic is coming back, a new production and two shows coming from Broadway. I couldn’t be happier.

 

Beautiful

1) Beautiful, the Carole King musical – Aldwych Theatre

This show is coming from Broadway and the previews have already started. This musical is like a biopic of Carole Klein, who became the singer Carole King. I can’t say I know many songs about her, but some are popular like ‘You make me feel like a natural woman’ or ‘You’ve got a friend’. It opened on Broadway last year, and in only one year is here in Europe, how exciting is that? The opening night will be on the 24th February in the Aldwych Theatre. I’m sure it’s a show full of drama and great songs. I won’t miss it.

 

Bend it like Beckham

2) Bend it like Beckham – Phoenix Theatre

This show is inspired in a popular movie. In the film, Jess wants to be a football player, like David Beckham. But her family wants her to study Law and be more like her sister, who is getting married. Her friend Jules invites her to play on a female team. I saw the movie many years ago but I don’t remember it. I wasn’t very happy when I knew that the musical adaptation was coming soon. It was like: seriously, why another movie adaptation? But now, I think: why not? Who knows? Maybe I like it. I’m not going to judge before they start performances in the Phoenix Theatre on 15th May, after ‘Once’ sadly is closing. For sure, I will see it and maybe it’s a fun night with great songs. We’ll see.

 

Gypsy

3) Gypsy – Savoy Theatre

The revival of ‘Gypsy’ is coming to the Savoy Theatre for a limited season, starring Imelda Staunton as Rose. I saw the movie a few weeks ago and I loved it. I enjoyed Natalie Wood’s performance so much and I can’t forget ‘Rose’s Turn’, so powerful, so dramatic. I can’t wait to see this beautiful show live on stage and see again the journey of Rose with her two daughters, June and Louise around America playing theatre. It’s a great new this revival is coming to London, because they are on tour around all UK.

 

Kinky Boots

4) Kinky Boots – Adelphi Theatre

Made in Dagenham’ is closing on 11th April. So I must hurry to see it before they leave. But then, in the same theatre, probably on August, the musical ‘Kinky Boots’ is starting performances. That’s just absolutely amazing. This musical is coming directly from Broadway too, which is inspired in a movie too, with music and lyrics by Cyndi Lauper. I don’t know much about the story, but it has been very successful in New York. So, hopefully, soon will be a classic in musical theatre and I’m not going to miss it.

 

Cesar

Responder

