‘Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again’

The best of the musicals is the connexion that you can create with them. It’s unique, personal, even knowing that the feelings and emotions are shared with many people. In the case of ‘The Phantom of the Opera’, there is a specific song that makes me goosebumps every time I hear it. It’s ‘Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again’. It’s a sad song but beautiful.

Everybody has felt the feelings of Christine in this song. She misses her dead father, she feels lost and helpless, and so she visits her father’s grave trying to find an answer. She just feels sad because she won’t be able to speak with his father never again, and it’s a feeling so hard to understand.

I wish I could see my mother too, I wish she could be with me somehow again, talking to me and giving me advices. But it’s impossible. So I imagine my mother giving me strength to overcome all the problems, the ones that I’ve been through and the ones are yet to come.

‘Wishing you were somehow here again
Wishing you were somehow near
Sometimes it seemed if I just dreamed
Somehow you would be here’

I think that this song is beautiful as it’s composed, the lyrics are poetry and the music is powerful. The scene is kind of idyllic, represents a private moment of Christine in his father’s grave that will be interrupted by the Phantom.

‘Try to forgive, teach me to live
Give me the strength to try
No more memories, no more silent tears
No more gazing across the wasted years
Help me say, “Goodbye”
Help me say, “Goodbye”’

Christine realises that his father won’t come back never again. But she wishes she can be strong and play in ‘Don Juan Triumphant’ without falling into the temptation of the Phantom. She begs his father to be strong, to overcome her sadness and find happiness.

I think it’s easy to find a connexion with this song, because we all miss somebody (father, mother, brother, sister, friend…). And we all would like to be stronger to overcome sadness or any problem in life. So Christine sings all those feelings and emotions in this wonderful song created by Andrew Lloyd Webber. One of my favourites in the show.

Cesar

2 pensamientos en “‘Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again’

Responder

