Rachel Berry sings ‘Les Misérables’

I fell in love with Rachel from the very beginning, from the first episode. I’m very easy to please, I know, but when she was singing ‘On My Own’ from ‘Les Misérables’, that’s when I said: ‘Oh God, this is good, I love her!’.

In 6 seasons, Rachel has performed three songs from ‘Les Misérables’: ‘On My Own’, ‘I Dreamed A Dream’ (as a duet with Idina Menzel) and ‘Bring Him Home’ (as a kind of duet with Chris Colfer). I’ll take a break here to say that I think that the writers made a great job with ‘I Dreamed A Dream’. The song was perfectly integrated in the story, it was performed in a very beautiful and moving way. And of course, sung by Idina Menzel and Lea Michele (who were playing a mother and her biological daughter) is the best choice ever.

 

ON MY OWN

On the very first episode of the show, Will Schuester is looking for people to join his new project, a brand new Glee Club. He prepares the auditions and, of course, Rachel Berry, joins them. She performs ‘On My Own’, from ‘Les Misérables’.

I think that it’s a good choice for some reasons. First of all, is a great song so she can show all her vocal range. And also the lyrics mean a lot to her. She is special; she is different, but also misunderstood, like Eponine. While she is performing, she explains that she wants to be a Broadway star, that’s why she always puts a star after her name. In only a few seconds of a song you know how is her. You see that she is ambitious, with great dreams and a lot of passion to be an artist.

In the case of the show, the song means all the sadness that Eponine is feeling, because she loves Marius but he is in love with Cosette. But in ‘Glee’, you can understand the show like Rachel is so in love with musicals, wants to be an artist, but she is a freak, everybody ignores her. So this song is very dramatic and powerful for the show. It’s definitely a great choice.

Les Misérables’ is a musical created by Claude-Michel Schönberg and Alain Boublil. It’s one of the most important musicals in history, is the longest running show in London, celebrating 30 years on stage. So, of course, Rachel Berry and most of the characters of ‘Glee’ admire this show, because they love musicals and this one is important.

There are thousands of performances of ‘On My Own’, you can have a look online. My favourite ones are Lea Salonga’s, Samantha Barks’ and Carrie Hope Fletcher’s version. But Lea does an amazing job too, is a good song for her that means a lot for the fans of the TV show and the musical.

Cesar

Un pensamiento en “Rachel Berry sings ‘Les Misérables’

  1. Chow Kim Wan

    I haven’t been reading all your posts recently because I am not familiar with “Glee”, but I got drawn in by this post. The performance was quite nice, though my favorite remains Lea Salonga. BTW your last paragraph is a bit confusing, at first I thought the Lea referred to Lea Salonga, until I realized this performer’s name is Lea Michele and Rachel was the character’s name. Sorry for that lol.

    Me gusta

    Responder

Responder

