Rachel sings musicals

 

On Monday I wrote about Rachel’s songs from the classic ‘Les Misérables’, but on the 6 seasons, she has sung a few songs from other musicals. It makes a lot of sense that she sings this kind of songs, because she adores musical theatre. As a character, she must have a huge play list of favourite songs from different shows. Her repertory in ‘Glee’ includes classic and modern musicals, like ‘Wicked’, ‘Chicago’, ‘Evita’, ‘The Wizard of Oz’, ‘Grease’, ‘Rent’, ‘West Side Story’ or ‘Funny Girl’.

 

DON’T CRY FOR ME ARGENTINA

Rachel performed one of the most iconic songs of ‘Evita’. It was a duet, with Kurt Hummel, but her solo version was released too. She is great for this song, like Chris Colfer, but it’s a bit weird for me to listen a boy singing it. I prefer her.

This song is part of the show created by Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice, inspired in Eva Perón’s life. As you may know, ‘Don’ Cry For Me Argentina’ is one of the most important, moving and popular scenes. It couldn’t be missed on ‘Glee’.

 

DEFYING GRAVITY

Ok, I must recognise something: I hate ‘Glee’s version of ‘Defying Gravity’. I’ve always loved the original version so so so so much, that for me Lea and Chris’ voices are boring in this song. It’s a bad excuse, I know, but I just don’t like it. For the 100th episode they performed it again and I was like: ‘Please, not again’.

Defying Gravity’ is a song from ‘Wicked’. Some songs of the show have been performed on the show, like ‘Popular’ and ‘For Good’. Is the story of the Witches of Oz. The main character is Elphaba, the Wicked Witch of the West, an ambitious girl who fights to protect the most vulnerable creatures of her world, becoming evil and ferocious for most of the people because of the Wizard’s lies. This song is the apotheosis’ final song of the first act.

 

WHAT I DID FOR LOVE

On the second season, Rachel sings ‘What I Did For Love’ from the musical ‘A Chorus Line’. She is sad because everybody on the Glee Club is upset with her for cheating on Sunshine, a girl who is trying to joing the club. She said that she was only trying to help the Club, but everybody knows that she was jealous because Sunshine is very talented.

A Chorus Line’ is a classic musical. You can see how hard is for actors and actresses to get a part on a show on Broadway. Diana is desperate because she needs a job that’s why she goes to the audition, even knowing that her ex is the director. The audition is not easy at all because of the memories of their relationship.

 

PAPA CAN YOU HEAR ME?

I was very impressed for this version because the scene was the same as the movie. Is one of the most popular songs from ‘Yentl’. This musical was directed and performed by Barbra Streisand, so of course the song had to be performed by Rachel. In ‘Glee’, Kurt’s dad had a heart attack, so the club decided to perform for him a lot of songs to cheer him up.

This musical is about a Jewish girl who is not able to study. Her father allows her to read, but once he is dead, she decides to cut her hair and get dressed as a boy so she can go to study.

 

I couldn’t finish making a list of great musical songs and Rachel solos performed on the show. Which one is your favourite?

Cesar

4 pensamientos en “Rachel sings musicals

  1. Chow Kim Wan

    CHORUS LINE! YEAH!!! Should I write about A Chorus Line some time soon? If I do, be sure to read it! By the way, this is not very relevant to the post, but I have recently attended a Lea Salonga concert, and I SANG WITH HER!! More details on my blog, but I suppose this is related to the theme of Glee on pursuing musical dreams. Thanks for this sharing anyway; never thought a Fox TV series would be so interesting to a fan of musicals!

    Me gusta

    Responder
      1. Chow Kim Wan

        It is on my blog already. By the way, as heads-up, I have nominated you for the Brotherhood of World Bloggers Award; see my upcoming post for more details!

        Me gusta

Responder

