The Theatre Café in the Shaftesbury Avenue

Theatre Cafe

The Theatre Café is the best place in the world. If you love musical theatre, is a must for you, I’m sure you’ll love it. You can relax, have a cup of coffee, eat some delicious biscuits, listen to some musicals soundtrack, buy a ticket to see a show and have a chat with the amazing and always friendly staff. It’s in the Shaftesbury Avenue, just in front of the Queens Theatre, where you can go to see ‘Les Misérables’.

Posters Theatre Cafe

It’s owned and run by London Theatre Bookings, one of the best webpage to catch some discounted tickets. That’s why you can buy some tickets there too. And if you’re not sure of what to see, I’m sure the staff can help you with that, they are really nice.

 

Coffee Theatre Cafe

The coffee shop opened on 12th January with a lot of expectations and I think that nobody is disappointed because it’s getting better day after day. They introduced lots of changes, like some new smoothies, sandwiches… And they have lots of posters to give for free too. My room looks much better now with some posters of ‘Cats’, ‘Made In Dagenham’ and ‘Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown’. I hope my collection keeps growing.

Theatre Cafe tables

They are also improving a lot with some of new events. They are bringing some actors, actresses and professionals of musical theatre to have a chat and a meeting with the people. That’s how I got a poster signed by Willemijn Verkaik and Ricardo Afonso, from ‘Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown’. This week there will be Louise Dearman (‘Wicked’) and Mark Evans (‘The Book Of Mormon’) to show their new book ‘Secrets of Stage Success’.

Theatre Cafe Into The Woods

On Saturdays they usually do an Open Mic where people can go and sing their favourite songs. I haven’t been yet, of course I won’t sing, because I’m not blessed with singing. But it must be funny to see. So if you are in London, don’t forget to go to the Theatre Café and enjoy yourself watching lots of posters on the walls, objects used in some shows (like one of the masks of the Phantom or an Elphaba’s broom), the tables full of posters and leaflets.

Theatre Cafe Phantom

I’m not paid by them to write this post, of course, but I think that it’s important to share with you the coolest place in the world for musicals lovers. I think it’s an important part of my experience in London enjoying and learning about musicals, because I go there as much as I can.

Theatre Cafe logo

Picture by The Theatre Cafe Facebook

Cesar

4 pensamientos en “The Theatre Café in the Shaftesbury Avenue

Responder

