The Open Air Theatre in London

Picture of the Open Air Theatre before the performance of 'Into The Woods' in 2010, by aesop on Flickr

Picture of the Open Air Theatre before the performance of ‘Into The Woods’ in 2010, by aesop on Flickr

Thanks God summer is here. This year is not very hot yet, but I’m sure that good weather will be here soon. The best of this time of year in London, for me, is West End Live, of course, and the Open Air Theatre. I haven’t been there yet, but one of my targets this year was to see a play there (or a musical, obviously). So I already booked a ticket for the upcoming production of ‘Seven Brides For Seven Brothers’, a musical that I love so much. I’ll be there on my birthday, on the 28th July. I can’t wait for it.

But I want to write a little bit about this theatre. It’s in the Royal Park Regent’s Park, in central London. I like Regent’s Park, because it’s quite and beautiful. The closest tube stations are Baker Street, Great Portland Street Station, Regent’s Park Station or Oxford Circus (it’s not the closest one, but I usually get there to have a walk).

The theatre is one of the biggest in London, with 1.250 seats in a unique atmosphere. I’m a bit worried about the weather, because the theatre is completely uncovered, and you know that even in summer, London’s weather is always changing and unpredictable. It was used for the first time in 1932, when Robert Atkins and Sydney Carroll presented a production of ‘Twelfth Night’ in the Regent’s Park.

Picture by Open Air Theatre Official Webpage

Picture by Open Air Theatre Official Webpage

Every year there is a different production of plays, musicals and concerts to see, with some famous actors and actresses like Benedict Cumberbatch, Jeremy Irons or Judi Dench. This year’s, for example includes ‘Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie’ (15th May – 14th June), ‘The Seagul’ (19th June – 11th July), ‘Seven Brides For Seven Brothers’ (16th July – 29th August) and ‘William Golding’s Lord Of The Flies’ (3rd September – 12th September).

I’m so excited about it, I’m sure it will be a great experience to watch a show in an open-air theatre, with the nature just next to us. I booked for my birthday because I want it to be a special day. Have you even been there, which show have you seen?

Cesar

 

Un pensamiento en “The Open Air Theatre in London

Responder

