‘Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West’

Picture by Tracy Lee Carroll on Flickr

Picture by Tracy Lee Carroll on Flickr

Wicked’ is a musical that started their performances on Broadway in 2004, but it was a long journey before going to stage. The show is inspired in a book written by Gregory Maguire. It was published in 1995 and soon became a success. Today it’s a bestseller because of the popularity of the show too. ‘Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West’ is the first book of the series ‘The Wicked Years’. The author wrote four books inspired in the land of Oz. That’s because of the popularity and legacy of ‘The Wizard of Oz’ in America through all the years.

I’ve read two and a half books of the series. I read the first one before watching the show, when I was a teenager and I was really impressed. It’s a very surprising book, very enjoyable especially if you like ‘The Wizard of Oz’. Then I read the second book, ‘Son Of A Witch’ but I wasn’t so surprised, it was fine and entertaining, but for me it had lost the surprise of the first one. The third book, ‘A Lion Among Men’ was so extremely boring to me that I couldn’t finish it, so I don’t have any interest in reading ‘Out Of Oz’. Of course it’s my personal opinion, all the series are best sellers, so maybe you can enjoy them. I honestly recommend the first book because I have a lot of good memories about it. It’s true that maybe I wasn’t ready to read the series at that moment and now I could have different feelings. You can enjoy the books in a different way depending on your age and your mood, that’s true. So, who knows, maybe I can read the books again someday.

The book tells the story of the Wicked Witch of the West when she was young, many years ago before Dorothy arrived to Oz. Gregory Maguire created the name of the Witch, Elphaba, inspired by the name of L. F. Baum, using his initials, L-F-B. It’s an adult book, inspired in ‘The Wizard of Oz’ but with lots of interesting ideas. Elphaba is a great character, with a horrible story. The book is forethought about politics, the diversity, humanity, respect and tolerance. Also it’s a book about adventures, so it’s really interesting to read, you have a fun time reading it, and especially remembering the songs from the show.

Cesar

3 pensamientos en “‘Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West’

  1. IAmDonovan

    I forced myself to get through all the books, but yeah, they weren’t great. It was really neat how he managed to extend this whole world for so long, but the Wicked was the best of them all.

    Me gusta

    Responder
      1. IAmDonovan

        If you like the world rather than the characters from the first book and you have the time for it, sure, go for it. They’re fairly interesting, though kind dry, as you know.

        Me gusta

Responder

